Shofar basics



Rosh Hashanah ראש השנה‎ is also described in the Torah as Yom Teru’ah ,יום תרועה , the Day of Sounding the Shofar.

For those that wish to blow the shofar correctly, the order to practice is as follows:1) Tekiah—an uninterrupted blast lasting for several seconds. 2) Shevarim—three medium-length blasts. 3) Teruah—a minimum of nine very short blasts.

Within a synagogue the minimum of blasts to be heard to meet the mitzvah is 100, outside (such as in diaspora/Whidbey) you can be considered good to go after hearing a minimum of 30.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s